Home History Committee Photos Fixture List Schools Match Reports Interesting Facts Links

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Boys' Hurling Finals

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Division 1 Boys' Hurling Final 2015

Ballinagh on cloud nine after excellent victory

Ballinagh N.S---- 9-9

Dernakesh N.S---- 2-1

Ballinagh N.S continued their winning streak in the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Division 1 Hurling competition when they blew away the spirited challenge of Dernakesh N.S in the final in the 3G Pitch, Kingspan Breffni Park on Saturday last.

Fionn Keating got Ballinagh off to a fast start with a point inside the opening minute of the match. Marc Gaynor showed great predatory instincts to fire the sliothar to the back of the Dernakesh N.S net in the third minute.

Odhran Keating struck over a majestic point from the right hand wing in the eight minute and this was soon followed by a well taken point from Tristan Graham who swivelled and shot over on the turn.

This left Ballinagh in a commanding position that they would go on to further extend. Chavez Moore stroked the sliothar into an empty net after Dernakesh N.S failed to clear their defensive lines to move his side nine points ahead.

Ballinagh N.S were dominating possession and they moved 3-3 to 0-0 in front with 12 minutes gone, when Peter Doyle got on the scoresheet with a goal, that took two deflections before nestling in the net.

Fionn Keating popped over a free for his side in the 14th minute and Odhran Keating struck a marvellous long distance point to leave it 3-5 to 0-0 in Ballinagh N.S's favour after 15 minutes.

Doyle converted a free before Odhran Keating again drove over a superb point from long range from the right hand wing. Marc Gaynor struck for his second goal of the first half in first half injury time, to send Ballinagh N.S into the half time intermission, with a handsome 4-7 to 0-0 lead.

Dernakesh N.S captain Patrick Lynch produced a fine piece of play at the outset of the second half that deserved more than the finish which tailed wide of the Ballinagh goal.

Peter Doyle went on a mazy run and buried his shot low and hard to the Dernakesh net, to raise his side's fifth green flag of the contest, with 23 minutes gone.

Dernakesh N.S got their opening score of the match with 25 minutes gone, when Jake White Duffy did superbly to find the back of the Ballinagh N.S net after patient build up play, from Dernakesh N.S. This left the scoreline reading Ballinagh 5-7 to Dernakesh's 1-0.

Dernakesh N.S got an injection of confidence having scored their first goal and followed it up with a second one in the 28th minute.

Patrick Lynch shot at goal with the sliothar appearing to take a slight touch of Daniel Ward, before finding it's way to the back of the Ballinagh net.

Ballinagh's Odhran Keating went on a mesmerising run of goal scoring, notching a hat-trick of goals inside a minute and a half, with three superb finishes that were buried emphatically to the back of the Dernakesh net. This further extended Ballinagh N.S's lead to 8-7 to 2-0 with 29 minutes on the clock.

Odhran Keating's last piece of action before going off injured was to complete his personal tally of 4-3 with another goal in the 31st minute. The sliothar pinged around near the Dernakesh goals and he was quickest to react to drive his shot to the back of the net.

Graham hooked over a neat point from a tight angle on the right hand side of the pitch with 36 minutes played and Doyle converted a 45 to leave it 9-9 to 2-0 a minute later.

Dernakesh N.S Captain Lynch notched his side's first point of the contest in the 38th minute from a free.

Ballinagh N.S were convincing winners in this Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Division 1 Final, with a very solid team performance, supplemented by some excellent performances from Odhran Keating and Peter Doyle.

Dernakesh N.S kept plugging away and were fully deserving of their two second half goals that their hard endeavour and spirit merited to take the harsh look of the end scoreline.

Ballinagh N.S: Ciaran Fleming, Tristan Graham(0-2), Marc Gaynor(2-0), Peter Doyle(2-2 1f, 1 45), Harris Crowley, Fionn Keating(0-2 1f), Odhran Keating(4-3), Adam Reilly, Pierce Kilkenny, Aaron Smith, Ronan Connolly. Subs: Ryan Morrow, Oisin Mac Phillips, Caolan McGovern, Chavez Moore(1-0).

Dernakesh N.S: Patrick Lynch(C)(0-1 1f), Daniel Ward(1-0), Oisin Pepper, Ryan Conroy, Keelan Keappock, Rhys Cochrane O'Reilly, Patrick Clerkin, Shane Shalvey, John McDermott, Sean Connolly, Michael Rice. Susb: Jake White Duffy(1-0), Adam Clarke, Darragh Lynch.

Man of the Match: Peter Doyle(Ballinagh N.S).

Back to Top

Back to Match Reports